Beat Freezing Temperatures by Unfreezing Vegetables

All summer we regaled you with tales of our CSA and Farm Coop, talking about our beet failures, and summer stews.  Madelene posted with some of her garden produce in a great article about Summer Salads.

But right now, it’s January.  Still five months away from CSA 2013 start up, and I recieved my last share of Winter Produce right before Christmas.  On Monday, my husband used the last of our farm share frozen carrots to make a modified potato and pea (and carrot) curry from our favorite cookbook.

DSC_0851
Bye CSA carrots! You were delicious.

Which means – I’m back to buying produce at the supermarket.

How am I handling this transition?

By playing it very very safe.

I contended with beets, arugula, scapes, leeks, sweet onions, three varieties of turnips and much more more this summer and fall.  The challenge made me more confident – but also upped my stress level.

At heart, I’m not a very adventurous cook.  I only like to try new recipes once a month or so.  Left to my own devices (like now) I buy onions, potatoes, carrots and celery and call it a good week.  Since learning about seasonal eating in 2006 when I worked on organic farms in New Zealand, I’ve tried to mainly stick with the roots in wintertime – or well, buying canned and frozen vegetables.  Dr. Oz told me that’s fine.

Here’s a recipe I’ve been making quite a number of times lately for others and myself- and I think you’ll really enjoy it.  It’s a quick mix, and perfect for a cold night.

Turkey Chili with White Beans

(As a vegetarian – I substitute tofu -it still tastes good)

DSC_0849
Ingredients:
1 Tbl EVOO
1 med onion, chopped.
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 lb turkey cutlets cut into ½ in pieces. (or Tofu, pressed/drained and cut into ½ in. pieces)
1 Tbl chili powder
1tsp cumin
1 15 oz. can Cannellini (or other white bean) – drained
1 14.5 oz can Mexican diced tomatoes
1 cup broth.

Method:
Heat oil in saucepan over med-high heat and add garlic and cook 1 minutes.  Add onion and cook 1 minute more.
Add turkey, chili powder, cumin and saute until turkey is cooked – about 15 minutes
Add beans, tomatoes, broth and simmer for about 15 to 20 more minutes.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Tonight – I’ll be serving this with Mark Bittman’s Good Old Fashioned Cornbread.

Enjoy!

Beth Melillo

*This recipe was shared with me by Jeneil Russell of Rhema’s Hope .  Jeneil blogs about raising two wonderful daughters, one of whom has Autism, and her adventures with them both.  I highly recommend checking out her blog.

Leave a Reply

