How to: Make a Homemade Sugar Scrub

After my post on Monday about my youthful inexperiences with makeup and skin care you thought: “Poor lady!  I wish someone had helped her out.”

Actually, I wasn’t as mentor-less as I perhaps made it sound.  There was a wonderful woman at my church who slipped me a razor for my legs when I was 11, a little advice about wearing deoderant, and this book.

I loved that book and pored over it, and was always secretly absconding with kitchen ingredients when I thought my parents weren’t paying attention.  They haven’t said otherwise, so maybe they didn’t notice that I took an egg into the shower with me on more than one occasion.  (It’s supposed to give you silky hair! Really!)

Well, as I reminiscing about my history with beauty, I remembered this book and though I no longer seem to own it, I wanted to give a few of the treatments to myself, for old time sake.

The simplest recipe in the book, and one I have used many times, is the baking soda exfoliant.

You can use the baking soda with some water (it’s slightly more abrasive this way), but many website suggest adding it to your normal facial cleanser on the days that you exfoliate.

But, the real thing I was interested in making was a Sugar Scrub, particularly if I could find some way to use the mint plant which is like a tentacled monster devouring our side door.


I decided to make a sugar scrub with mint essential oil in it, perfect.  But… how to make essential oil?

Well, turns out there are plenty of websites which will tell you how, and I used this recipe from eHow.

You need:

  1. Clear Glass Jar
  2. Mint Leaves
  3. Carrier Oil (such as Grapeseed, which I found at Whole Foods)
  4. Dark Class Jar (to store oil)
  5. Strainer
  6. 24-48 hours.

I picked a pile of mint leaves, probably about 1/2 cup packed down, then rinsed them.  As recommended, I pounded the leaves with a plastic mallet while they were inside a plastic bag, then placed them into approximately a half cup of grapeseed oil in small canning jar on my window sill with some plastic wrap placed over the mint leaves and oil.  Then I waited.

After two days, the oil was fragrant! I was sort of surprised it was that easy.

I mixed up a batch of sugar scrub using the ratio of 1/3 oil to 2/3 sugar.  You can use white sugar, which I always have on hand in the pantry anyway.  I used a dark glass jar I had waiting, and then used some on my hands*.  Mmmm, soft!  I can’t wait to use more the next time I take a bath.

-Beth Melillo

*Most sites and books recommend testing out an oil on a small patch of skin before dousing yourself in it, just in case you have an allergic reaction!

Leave a Reply

